Managing users

Edit on GitHub

This topic describes how to manage users.

To start managing users, go to Users > Users.

You can do the following:

  • Create a new user record
  • Assign customers to a specific user
  • Edit a user
  • Deactivate/activate a user
  • Delete a user from the system

Creating users

You have already done the primary setup (you have created a role and group, so now it is time to add an actual user record to the system.

To create a user record:

  1. In the top right corner of the User page, click Add New User.

  2. Enter and select the following attributes:

    • E-mail, Password, Repeat Password
    • First Name and Last Name
    • Assigned groups
    • Agent
    • Interface language
  3. Click Create.

That’s it. The created user record appears on the Users page.

Tips & tricks

There is a way to initiate a create-new-user flow while editing a user record. To do that, on the Edit User page, in the top right corner, click Add User.

Editing users

To edit a user:

  1. In Users List > Action column, click Edit if you want to change user’s details.
  2. Click Update.

Reference information: Creating and editing users

This section describes attributes you see, select, and enter when creating and editing users.

Agent user

While creating or editing a user, you can make a specific user to be an agent.

This is very helpful for Customer Service and Sales departments.

Who is an agent user? This is a user that can do the same actions in the online store as a regular buyer.

Why this option is needed? Let’s pretend that there is a customer that needs assistance with his order. He needs a store representative to find the needed items in the catalog and submit an order on his behalf. This is exactly what an agent can do.

How this can be done? An agent user goes to Yves using /agent/login at the end of the online store URL and logins with their Back Office credentials.

In the Search field on the top, he searches for the customer email. Once found, clicks Confirm on the right.

Since now he can perform the same actions as a regular customer. Once all needed actions are done and the order is placed, he clicks End Customer Assistance.

Click to see how it looks on Yves. Agent User

Creating and editing user page attributes

The following table describes the attributes used when creating or updating a user.

ATTRIBUTES DESCRIPTION
Email Email that is going to be used by this user to log in to Back Office.
Password Password that is going to be used by this user to log in to Back Office.
Repeat Password The same value that you enter for the Password field.
First Name FIrst name of the team member for which the user is being created.
Last Name Last name of the team member for which the user is being created.
Assigned Groups List of all groups that are currently available in the system. You can select from one to many values by selecting the appropriate checkboxes.
Agent Identifies if this is a user agent. See the Agent User section above.
Interface Language List of the available languages. This defines in what language the user will see the Back Office interface. Once the account language is changed, the respective user will see that their interface is translated into the corresponding language upon their next login.
Status Available on the Edit User page only
Identifies if this user is in active status. All records are Active upon creation by default. The available values are: active (meaning able to log in to Back Office), blocked (the user is not able to log in), deleted (the user is not able to log in)

Assigning customers to users

The Assign Customers option is used to assign store customers’ records to the Back office user records. This is done to enable the Back Office user to preview the CMS Pages in the online store (see CMS Pages set of topics).

To assign a customer:

  1. Navigate to the Users page.
  2. In the Users List > Action column, select Assign Customers.
  3. In the List of customers > Select customers to assign table, select the check-box next to the customer you want to assign (multiple customers can be selected).
  4. Click Save.

A customer cannot be assigned to multiple users at a time.

Tips & tricks
To de-assign a customer:

  1. On the Assign Customers to User page, scroll down to the Assigned customers table.
  2. Remove the check-box next to the customer(s) that needs to become unassigned, and click Save.

Activating and deactivating users

To activate or deactivate a user:

  1. In the Users List > Action column, click Activate (or Deactivate).

If a user has deactivated themselves, this user will get logged out immediately and the message about the successful deactivation will be shown.

  1. The status in the Status column will be changed to Active or Deactivated depending on the action you performed.

Deleting users

To delete a user:

  1. In the Users List > Action column, click Delete.
  2. On the Warning page, click Delete to confirm the action.

The user’s status in the Status column will change to Deleted. However, the user still stays in the Users List table. If the user has deleted themselves, this user will get logged out immediately and the message about the successful deletion will be shown.