Managing groups

Edit on GitHub

This topic describes how to manage groups.

To start working with groups, go to Users > Groups.

Creating groups

Now you need to create a group to assign a role to it.

To create a group:

  1. In the top right corner of the Groups table, click Create Group.
  2. In the Title field, enter the name of your group
  3. From the Assigned Roles drop-down menu, select the role to assign to this group and click Save.
Note

You can select from one to many roles to be assigned.

This redirects you to the Edit Group page. The page contains the same fields as the Create Group page. The only difference is that on the Edit page, you see the Users section.

In this section, you can see what users are assigned to this specific group and de-assign them if needed.

Editing groups

To edit the group:

  1. In the Groups > Actions column, click Edit.
  2. On the Edit Group page, you can:
    • Rename the group by changing the value in the Title field.
    • Assign a new role to a group. You can also remove the already assigned roles by clicking X on the left of the assigned role.
  3. Click Save.

To de-assign a user from a group:

  1. In the Groups > Actions column, click Edit.
  2. On the Edit group page, in the Users section, click Delete in the Actions column.

This action does not delete the user itself. It just deletes the association between this specific user and group.

Tips & tricks
To know what roles are assigned to a specific group without initiating the update flow, do the following:

  1. On the Groups table view page, click the hyperlinked value in the Roles column. All roles assigned to this group are listed in the Roles in Group pop-up that appears.
  2. To close the pop-up window, click Close.

What’s next?
The preliminary steps are performed so you can proceed and create an actual user record.