Managing Groups

Edit on GitHub
You are browsing a previous version of the document. The latest version is Code releases 05.20.

This topic describes the procedures that you need to perform to create and update groups.


To start working with groups, navigate to the Users Control > Groups section.


Creating a Group

Now you need to create a group to assign a role to it.

To create a group:

  1. Click Create Group in the top right corner of the Groups table view page.
  2. Enter the name of your group in the Title field.
  3. In the Assigned Roles drop-down menu, select the role to assign to this group and click Save.
Note

You can select from one to many roles to be assigned.

This will redirect you to the Edit Group page. The page contains the same fields as the Create Group page. The only difference is that on the Edit page you will see the Users section.

In this section, you can see what users are assigned to this specific group and de-assign them if needed.


Editing a Group

To edit the group:

  1. In the Groups > Actions column, click Edit.
  2. On the Edit Group page you can:
    • Rename the group by changing the value in the Title field.
    • Assign a new role to a group. You can also remove the already assigned roles by clicking X on the left of the assigned role.
  3. Once you finish updating the values, click Save.

To de-assign a user from a group:

  1. In the Groups > Actions column, click Edit.
  2. On the Edit group page in the Users section, click Delete in the Actions column.

This action will not delete the user itself. It will just delete the association between this specific user and group.


Tips and tricks

In case you need to know what roles are assigned to a specific group without initiating the update flow, do the following:

  1. On the Groups table view page, click the hyperlinked value in the Roles column. All roles assigned to this group are listed in the Roles in Group pop-up that appears.
  2. Click Close to close the pop-up window.

What’s next?

The preliminary steps are performed so you can proceed and create an actual user record.